Boards and Commissions

Home » City Government

 The Architectural Review Board reviews applications for new or replacement dwelling structures in all residential zoned districts, and reviews applications in all other zoning districts when an increase in building square footage or a substantial exterior change is proposed. The Architectural Review Board meets day after the Board of Zoning Appeals each month at 8:00 AM in Council Chambers (3rd Floor), City Hall.

Members: Michael Caito, Michael Cucciarre, Richard Kieley

Architectural Review Board Application

2020 Meeting Schedule
Thurs., January 9
Thurs., February 13
Thurs., March 12
Thurs., April 9
Thurs., May 14
Thurs., June 11
Thurs., July 9
Thurs., August 13
Thurs., September 10
Thurs., October 15
Thurs., November 19 (due to Veterans Day)
Thurs., December 10

All Agenda documents are PDFs.

10-17-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
9-12-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
8-15-19 ARB Meeting Agenda
7-11-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
6-13-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
5-9-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
4-11-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
3-14-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
2-14-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
1-10-2019 ARB Meeting Agenda
12-13-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
11-15-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
10-11-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
9-13-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
8-9-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
7-12-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
6-14-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
5-10-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
4-12-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
3-15-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda
2-8-2018 ARB Meeting Agenda

The Board of Zoning Appeals is responsible for interpreting the zoning code provisions and can approve or deny applications for special permits according to applicable provisions of the zoning code.The Board of Zoning Appeals meets the second Wednesday of each month at 8:00 AM in Council Chambers (3rd Floor), City Hall.

Members: Ari Jaffe, Kevin Goodman, Kelly Jablonski, Ann Mannen
City Council Liaison: Michele Weiss

Board of Zoning Appeals Application

2020 Meeting Schedule
Wed., February 12
Wed., March 11
Wed., April 8
Wed., May 13
Wed., June 10
Wed., July 8
Wed.. August 12
Wed., September 9
Wed., October 14
Wed., November 18 (due to Veterans Day)
Wed., December 9

The Records Retention Commission has the responsibility to provide rules for retention and disposal of records of the city, and to review applications for one-time disposal of obsolete records and schedules of records retention and disposition submitted by municipal offices. The Records Retention Commission meets the second Wednesday of the month, at least once every six months, at 9:00 AM in Council Chambers (3rd Floor), City Hall.

2020 Schedule
Wed., March 11
Wed., October 14

Members: Mayor Michael Dylan Brennan, Finance Director James Goffe, Law Director Luke McConville, Appointment to be named

12-5-2019 City Planning Commission Meeting Agenda (pdf)

The City Planning Commission shall have such powers as may be conferred on it by ordinance of the Council concerning the plan, design, location, removal, relocation and alteration of any public buildings or structures or those located on public streets or property; the location, relocation, widening, extension and vacation of streets, parkways, playgrounds and other public places, the approval of plats for the subdivision of land; the zoning and rezoning of the City for any lawful purpose and such other powers as are now or may hereafter be conferred upon it by ordinance of the Council or the general law of Ohio. The City Planning Commission meets upon demand.

Members: Mayor Michael Dylan Brennan, Councilman John Rach, Michael Fine, Paul Siemborski, April Urban

Planning Commission meets First Thursday of Each Month – if needed (Ordinance 2017-27) At 7:00 PM in Board Room, Cleveland Heights-University Heights School Board (2155 Miramar Blvd.)

2020 Schedule
Thurs., January 2
Thurs., February 6
Thurs., March 5
Thurs., April 2
Thurs., May 7
Thurs., June 4
Thurs., July 2
Thurs., August 6
Thurs., September 3
Thurs., October 1
Thurs., November 5
Thurs., December 3

The Civil Service Commission is comprised of three residents of the city who shall make necessary rules for the appointment, promotion, transfer, lay-off, reinstatement, suspension and removal of persons in the classified service. The Civil Service Commission meets upon demand.

Members: Therese Sweeney-Drake, Keith Thomas, Steven Dlott

Members: Allison Hibbard, Justin Seabury Gould, Patti Carlyle